MEC to announce official by-election results at 4

Kaunda swearing in

Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) has said it will make official determination of by elections results at 4pm on Wednesday.

Director of Communication and Public Relations, Sangwani Mwafulirwa said the results announcement will be made at College of Medicine Sports Complex in Blantyre.

Unofficial results indicate Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has retained two positions out of the three that were in contention. Malawi Congress Party has emerged winner in Nsanje Lalanje ward.

Symon Vuwa Kaunda, Nkhata Bay legislator and former minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development has secured the DPP seat in what most people have described as a sign people are disgruntled with Tonse Alliance.

Kaunda's 2019 win was heavily contested. The High Court upheld his win but the Supreme Court of Appeal annulled his victory prompting the rerun.

Meanwhile, leader of opposition in Parliament Kondwani Nankhumwa has extended his congratulatory message to Kaunda and the people of Nkhata Bay Central.

"What is more exciting for me is that our Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) parliamentary candidate reclaimed his seat against a combination of over nine (9) political parties. I wish to congratulate the people of Nkhata Bay Central for courageously exercising their democratic right to elect a representative of their choice without being intimidated by any outside influences," he said.

Nankhumwa has also congratulated Flossie Elizabeth Hera of the DPP on her victory as Chikwembere ward councillor in Blantyre North constituency.